h1

Welcome to the real world…AGAIN!

April 7, 2010

Well, folks, contrary to what my fellow bloggers have been blogging about, entering the “real” working world is not as daunting as it seems! Trust me, I know…I’ve been there, done that, and now I’m doing it again…woo hoo!

I think the reason why so many of us are a little stressed about entering the working world is because we don’t have a place to work yet, which makes sense, right? I know I’m certainly panicking a wee bit about not having a practicum position secured. In my opinion we should have had the whole practicum thing figured out before April because now we’re left to deal with immense amounts of school work and the stress of finding a practicum, which is making everyone nervous about the future.

Back in my NAIT days I did a practicum, and it turned out to be a great experience (minus the fact that I hated my career as a court reporter further down the road). Sure, I was nervous and scared at first about going out into the real world, but once you realize you have all the necessary skills to succeed in your field, it feels golden!

I know everyone in our class has previous post-secondary education and life experiences, so I have no doubt in my mind that everyone will be successful in what they strive to do. In my mind, any knowledge gained, whether it’s relevant to your current profession or not, is important knowledge that you will carry with you forever.

So when you all go out into the working world, be confident and take everything you’ve learned and be the best you can be! I know I will!

Cheers,

Gitte

2 comments

  1. Nice post Gitte, it’s great to see things from a logical perspective


  2. Thanks for the reassurance Gitte! But for those of us who have never been out of school it’s still quite terrifying!

    I am hoping that after a couple of weeks in the internship I will get used to the new routine and be able to apply what I know. But only time will tell…I might need to start drinking every night after work to get through it! Haha.



Leave a Reply

